Forty-Three Days

Woah. I honestly can not believe that a day like this has already gotten here. Before I get started I want to refer to this picture below.

FullSizeRender-1

I was in France when I took this picture, and I wasn’t enjoying my time there. I was more than excited to return home, to Miami where I knew I had more fun than I ever have before. Now, it’s the same amount of days before I leave, and now I’m going back to France. It’s just a step though before the ride becomes to London, and then suddenly London becomes home.

As the countdown nears, I find that I am not at all prepared for this trip. I still have no idea what I should pack and what I should not. I am in awe of what I am supposed to plan ahead for. Yet, the closer it gets, the farther I want it to be. I know it’s coming, and that in itself is exciting beyond belief. I want to treasure the time I have left here, however, and that has made me think about the house that I’m leaving behind.

I’ve lived in the same house since I was 11, and for the last 11 years, it’s been a rollercoaster of a ride. My room has gone through almost as many changes as I have, and I love looking back at those changes. There’s a specific mark I’m fond of,

IMG_1709I made this when I was around 12, and we were repainting the room. All the walls were that color, and the entire room except this one spot is perfect. This is my favorite spot. I made it on purpose, letting the roller with paint get away from me. I wanted some clear point that I would remember forever, something that made this room more of our own. By our I mean my sister and I’s.

It’s sad letting this room go, especially for an unstable room with a new bed and an uncomfortable environment. Yet, I’m happy to be leaving this place behind. I’m going to miss the hell of it for a very long time and probably look rather fondly on it back when I’m older, but I can’t deny that I am ready to leave this part of my life behind. I am ready for this countdown to hit zero, even if it means having to start over.

I know who will be staying in my life and those who I will never see again. Just as I know that I will see this mark again, it’s not the end. Only a see you later.

And I will see you later.

Leave a comment